From NCMPs to Leader of the Opposition – how Parliament has evolved

0 22

Nominated Members of Parliament at their swearing-in ceremony on July 20, 2009. Each NMP serves a term of 2 ½ years and may be reappointed.

As the anti-colonial independence movement gathered steam in the 1950s, the British set up a commission in 1953 to recommend changes to Singapore’s constitutional system.

A key outcome of this was the formation of the Legislative Assembly – the predecessor to the Parliament of Singapore – in 1955.

Please subscribe or log in to continue reading the full article. Learn more about ST PREMIUM.

Enjoy unlimited access to ST’s best work

Exclusive stories and features on multiple devicesIn-depth analyses and opinion piecesePaper and award-winning multimedia content

Subscribe Now

Key changes | Subscribe

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.